Everyday Crimefighters Recognized in Community Safety and Crime Prevention Awards

November 3, 2014

Kicking off BC’s Crime Prevention Week (November 1 to 7), this past Friday saw 19 individuals and organizations recognized in the 16th annual Ministry of Justice Community Safety and Crime Prevention Awards.

AG and Minister of Justice Suzanne Anton remarked,

“This inspirational group of local heroes shows us that, year after year, our greatest crime fighters are often the people we see every day in our own neighbourhoods. We can all take part in creating safe communities and protecting our homes, school, and work places. To the award winners, on behalf of your neighbours, your communities, and our province, thank you.”

Highest honours went to Terry Moist, who was presented the Anthony J. Hulme Award of Distinction for his 36 years of service in the North Island area.

By category, this year’s award winners were:

Anthony J. Hulme Award of Distinction – Lifetime Contribution

  • Terrance (Terry) Moist of Campbell River 

Kenneth M. Lemckert Community Policing Award

  • Carol-Ann Rolls, North Cowichan RCMP

Wael T. Audi Youth Policing Award

  • Constable Joshua Smith, Lytton RCMP
  • Detective Constable Jim Fisher, Vancouver Police Department

Dr. Liz Elliott Restorative Justice Memorial Award

Crime Prevention and Community Safety Award for a Community Organization

Crime Prevention and Community Safety Award for an Individual

  • Jodie McNeice of Port Coquitlam
  • Wendy Kellas of Prince George
  • Dr. Claire Vanston of Nanaimo

Children or Youth Leadership Award

  • Safe Youth Cowichan, Safer Futures in Duncan

Corporate Award

Media Award

  • Sergeant Lindsey Houghton of Surrey

Volunteer Award

  • Pat Lunzmann of Merritt
  • Danny Gelmon of Vancouver
  • Helen (Jean) Grant of Abbotsford

Congratulations to all!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *