BC Bencher Election Results

November 22, 2013

Bencher election results were posted at the Law Society of BC website on Saturday, November 16. Ten Benchers were elected for the first time and 12 were re-elected, 4 by acclamation. Members had previously elected Jan Lindsay, QC as President and Bencher for Westminster, Kenneth Walker, QC as First Vice-President and Bencher for Kamloops, and David Crossin, QC as Second Vice-President and Bencher for Vancouver.

For Vancouver, the following lawyers were elected or re-elected as Benchers:

  • Joseph J.M. Arvay, QC
  • Jeevyn Dhaliwal
  • Craig A.B. Ferris
  • Miriam Kresivo, QC
  • Jamie Maclaren
  • Sharon Matthews, QC
  • Maria Morellato, QC
  • David Mossop, QC
  • Herman Van Ommen, QC
  • Elizabeth Rowbotham
  • A. Cameron Ward
  • Tony Wilson

For Victoria, there are two new Benchers:

  • Pinder K. Cheema, QC
  • Dean P.J. Lawton

In Nanaimo, Nancy Merrill was re-elected Bencher by acclamation

For the District of Westminster, there are two Benchers elected or re-elected:

  • W. Martin Finch, QC
  • Philip A. Riddell

For Kootenay District, Lynal E. Doerksen was re-elected by acclamation.

In the Okanagan, Thomas P. Fellhauer was also re-elected by acclamation.

For the Cariboo District, two were re-elected:

  • Lee Ongman
  • Gregory Petrisor

And finally, for Prince Rupert, Barry N. Zacharias was re-elected by acclamation.

Congratulations to all newly elected and re-elected Benchers. Best wishes for a productive year!


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *